Graduate Council Minutes of the Meeting of September 8, 2016 3:30 p.m., GUC Loft

The Graduate Council met on Thursday, September 8, 2016, at 3:30 p.m. in the GUC Loft. Dr. Wendy Darby, Chairperson, presided. The following members were present: Dr. Joy Borah, Dr. Paulette Alexander, Dr. Lynn Aquadro, Mr. Seth Armstrong, Dr. Linda Austin, Dr. Jeffrey Bibbee, Dr. Stephanie Bolton, Dr. Greg Carnes, Mr. Zack Crowell, Dr. Melvin Davis, Dr. Chanho Kang, Ms. Cassie Morgan, Dr. Amber Paulk, Ms. Celia Reynolds, Dr. Beth Sewell, Dr. Jeremy Stafford, and Dr. Leah Whitten.

MINUTES

Appointment of the Vice Chair.

Dr. Whitten nominated Dr. Jeffrey Cornelius and Dr. Alexander seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

Approval of the minutes of the meeting of the Graduate Council on July 5, 2016.

Dr. Paulk moved approval and Dr. Bibbee seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

Consideration of the request from the College of Business proposing nine new 2 hour courses and revising the MBA core curriculum to include these new courses.

Dr. Paulk moved approval and Dr. Bibbee seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

Consideration of the request from the College of Business to change course title of MG 670 from "Leadership and Team Building" to "Developing High Performance Teams". This change is necessary due to a new MBA core class titled: "Leadership and MBA Essentials".

Dr. Paulk moved approval and Dr. Bibbee seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

Consideration of the request from the Department of Secondary Education to create new course: IL 697.

Dr. Darby moved that this be approved with the previous motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

Consideration of the request from the Office of Educator Preparation to add a disabilities course requirement to all graduate level educator preparation programs per ALSDE mandate.

Dr. Paulk moved approval and Dr. Aquadro seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

Dr. Paulk moved adjournment. Meeting adjourned at 3:50 p.m.

Wendy Darby, Chairperson

Wendy Darby